toolstation

toolstation

 

Problem: A drilling machine is used only 13 minutes during it’s whole life. Today, renting a Power Tool costs as much as buying a cheap one. Those are poor in quality, unsafe and have a very short lifetime in general. Also, most people are afraid to use power tools and lack experience needed for operating them properly and in a safe way.

Solution: Toolstation is a Smart-Sharings-System. It provides professional grade tools for everyone. Located at public transport stations it is easy to find, highly frequented and independent from legal opening hours. With an App, the user can check availability of tools, book them, release them on site and buy wear parts like bits and blades from the  vending machine.

IoT – Internet of Things: Through the Smart-Toolbox all tools are connected to the internet and the users smartphoner, sharing sensoric data during runtime (think usage time, wear off, settings), maintenance data while housed in the toolstation. On basis of this digital network, sensors and Smart-Tags, a whole new generation of consumer products will emerge. These will provide security for human and machine, guide with assistance and beyond expand the functionality of the product. The Toolstation provides an ecosystem including manufacturers of tools and wearparts, a social network for DIY with crowd-sourced info material such as videos, manuals et cetera, a cross-selling-platform for construction materials as well as a smartphone app for end users.

Sustainability: If a tool is shared, it´s ecological impact is divided by the number of its users. If 100 people use one tool, CO2 emission and waste is reduced to 1% compared to single ownership. Since the devices are maintained and repaired professionally their lifetime will even expand. And if there is an end some day – due to the closed materal cycle the materials can be perfectly recycled to produce new products.

Development: In 2016 the development from a design concept to a business model started with the support of Fraunhofer CeRRI (Center for Responsible Research and Innovation). In parallel, a comprehensive IT concept and a resilient cost plan for the development and implementation was developed. Then the tool manufacturer Hilti and Würth-Electronics-eiSos were won as partners. A prototype of the intelligent toolbox was developed by a group of engineering students of the institute for Assembly Technology and Factory Management of the Technical University Berlin in  winter term 2016/2017. In March 2017, the project won the IoT-EPI Challenge and found further partners in this framework, such as the gateway platform AGILE. Currently we work on a second version of the smart toolbox and we face the development of the station. We are looking for investors for the first in-field development phase that will take place in Berlin. Now we’re looking for further partnerships and Investors in fields like cross-selling, logistics, maintenance, tool and wear-part manufacturer, DIY-markets, provider of sales areas.

toolstation

toolstation

Problem: Eine Bohrmaschine läuft in ihrem gesamten Leben durchschnittlich nur 13 Minuten. Im Verleih kostet Werkzeug pro Tag etwa so viel wie äquivalente Billiggeräte zu kaufen. Da diese minderwertig produziert werden, sind sie ein Ärgernis in der Anwendung und haben meist ein sehr kurzes Leben. Außerdem fürchten sich viele Menschen vor der Nutzung von Elektrowerkzeugen, weil ihnen die Erfahrung für einen sicheren Umgang fehlt.

Lösung: Die Toolstation ist eine smarte Verleihstation, die an Stationen des öffentlichen Verkehrs professionelles Werkzeug bereitstellt, für Jeden und jederzeit. Mittels der App informieren sich die Nutzer über die Verfügbarkeit der Geräte, können diese darüber buchen, vor Ort freigeben und bei Bedarf auch Verschleißteile wie Bits und Sägeblätter kaufen, die sie aus dem integrierten Automaten holen.

IoT – Internet of Things: Durch den intelligenten Werkzeugkoffer stehen alle Werkzeuge in Verbindung mit dem Smartphone des Users. Auf Grundlage der digitalen Vernetzung entsteht eine völlig neue Gerätegeneration, die mit integrierter Sensorik und Smart-Tags mehr Sicherheit für Mensch und Maschine schafft, Hilfestellung geben kann und darüber hinaus das Funktionsspektrum erweitert. So bietet die Toolstation ein ganzes Ecosystem aus Herstellern von Werkzeugen und Verbrauchsmaterialien, ein soziales Netzwerk für “Selbermacher”/”DIY” mit nutzergenerierten Inhalten wie Videos, Anleitungen, Designs; eine Cross-Selling-Plattform für Material und ein Smartphone-App für Nutzer.

ökologisch: Wird Werkzeug geliehen, statt gekauft, teilt sich sein ökologischer Einfluss durch die Anzahl der Nutzer. Wird zum Beispiel ein Werkzeug von 100 Menschen benutzt, reduzieren sich CO2 Emission durch Herstellung und Schrott auf 1%. Da die Geräte professionell gewartet werden, lässt sich ihr Leben auch noch verlängern. Findet es trotzdem irgendwann ein Ende, können die enthaltenen Materialien, durch den geschlossenen Stoffkreislauf viel besser zu neuen Produkten recycelt werden.

Entwicklungsstand: 2016 begann die Entwicklung aus einem Designkonzept zu einem Geschäftsmodell durch Unterstützung des Fraunhofer CeRRI (Center for Responsible Research and Innovation). Parallel entstand auch ein umfassendes IT-Konzept und ein belastbarer Kostenplan zur Entwicklung und Umsetzung. Daraufhin konnte der Werkzeughersteller Hilti und Würth Elektronik eiSos als Partner gewonnen werden. Ein Prototyp des intelligenten Werkzeugkoffers wurde von einer Gruppe Ingenieurstudenten des Instituts für Werkzeugmaschinen und Fabrikbetrieb der Technischen Universität Berlin im Wintersemester 2016/2017 entwickelt. Im März 2017 gewann das Projekt die IoT-EPI-Challenge und fand in diesem Rahmen weitere Partner, wie zum Beispiel die Gateway-Plattform AGILE. Aktuell steht eine zweite Version des Koffers und die Entwicklung der Station in Berlin bevor. Wir suchen nach Investoren die erste In-Field Entwicklungsphase und Kooperationspartner im Bereich cross-selling, Logistik, Wartung, Hersteller von Werkzeug- und Verbrauchs- und Verschleißteile, Baumärkt und Anbieten von Aufstellflächen.